Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login to access forum.
Screen Reader wave.webaim.org Validation (1 viewing) 
Go to bottom
TOPIC: Screen Reader wave.webaim.org Validation
George Hatsiulis / Internet Technology Solutions
Fresh Boarder
User Offline
Screen Reader wave.webaim.org Validation Karma: 0  
Hello
I am trying to pass validation through the WAVE Web Accessibility Evaluation Tool of a web site where the screen reader works and I get 9 errors. The site is http://pla-automation-hellas.com/en/ and you can see the validation results here: http://wave.webaim.org/report#/http://pla-automation-hellas.com/en/
Since I am not a coder and the files of the Screen Rader are .js files I cannot understand and see which changes to make. The 9 errors are tilted Empty Button : A button is empty or has no value text.
Is there anyone out there to tell me what to do and which changes to make on which files?
Thanks

Logged Logged  
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
John Dagelmore
Admin
User Online Now
Re:Screen Reader wave.webaim.org Validation Karma: 79  
Hello,
the WAVE reports missing text for buttons used to control the screen reader but it's not necessary in this case. Those are buttons used as icons and they have access keys.

If you want to add some text to those buttons you should deal with the js file, then hide the text using CSS otherwise it would break the layout of the icons.

Best regards
John

Logged Logged  
Fresh Boarder
User Offline
Re:Screen Reader wave.webaim.org Validation Karma: 0  
Hello Mr. John and thank you for your prompt reply.
I understand that these errors don't eliminate functionality but in order for the site to get validated through http://wave.webaim.org/ I need to add the text you are referring to.
You replied : "If you want to add some text to those buttons you should deal with the js file, then hide the text using CSS otherwise it would break the layout of the icons."
What I need to know is how to "deal" with the js file.